Ricky Garni

Ricky Garni writes and draws in Carrboro, North Carolina. Over the last twenty years, he has produced thirty books of poetry, ranging from the one page A PERFECT DAY to MAYBE WAVY and OK YOU CAN STOP NOW, both of which are over 500 pages long. On the back of OK you can find the following blurb from writer Emily Cooper: “You idiot! All your poems are stupid and about nothing in particular! “

Something About My Day

I like it I said
I am glad you like it she said
but are we talking about the same thing?

she speaks one way
I speak another
I am writing this like neither

I like it, I said
I am glad you like it
the reader said but thought
but wait, what do you mean?

Well,

I love it, I said
I am glad you like it,
the reader said
in despair OH NO I just love it
she says I do like it

if we are talking about the same thing,
if we are not talking about the same thing,
why must we disagree? OK then.

I love it, I said
I like it, I said

I like it, she said
I love it, she said

in Paris

of all places

This entry was posted in Ricky Garni and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

