John Tustin

John Tustin‘s poetry is forthcoming in Bryant Literary Review, Gutter Eloquence, The Chiron Review, and others. fritzware.com/johntustinpoetry is a link to his poetry online.

Space

there is this space between us
and I need it.
there is this space between us
and I curse it.
this space that sits between us on the sofa,
at the breakfast table,
inside the mechanics of a telephone.
it sleeps between us
like the inevitability of death.

I need this space, you see.
I need it to write.
I need it to think.
I need it for some reason.
I need this space that narrows
but never closes,
that covers
but never comforts.
I need this space that sets wings on fire,
that yawns with enormous lazy teeth.
I need this space that eats slowly
at the edges of
yellow and green and red and blue
until all that remains is gray.

there is this space between us
that kills us
as it sustains
me.
I curse it again
as it calls me
and I come toward it
like I always do.

This entry was posted in John Tustin and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

